The Skye’s the limit! (also, photos!)

A few weeks ago, I was able to visit two of Scotland’s most breathtaking scenes: the famous Highlands, and the beautiful Isle of Skye. Being able to go on this trip and take pictures of some of the most beautiful scenery in the world is exactly why I am extremely glad that I decided to study abroad.

One the way to the Isle of Skye, we got to see a lot of cool places, including Loch Lomond (again), where I got some nice shots with the sunrise in the background. Afterwards, we rode into the Highlands (although there was a point where our bus had to navigate around a bus going the opposite direction because the road on the way was so narrow) and got many amazing photos of lochs as well as some of the world famous Highlands. Even though I have taken many good photos, some of what I thought were great photo opportunities were obscured by the trees that were along the road. We got some great photos of Lake Tulla

Unfortunately, a car accident had happened on our way to Glen Coe early on in the day, so we had to take a detour that significantly cut our time in part because of the length of the detour (there aren’t that many roads in the Highlands) and a traffic jam, which while I am tempted ┬áto wonder how the Highlands can have a traffic jam, I wouldn’t blame so many people for wanting to see them all at once.

We also got to visit Fort William, the second largest settlement of the Highlands, Loch Garry, which looks like a map of Scotland in a certain view, and Eilean Donan Castle, which is in the middle of three sea lochs. Even though we got to the Isle of Skye much later than scheduled, the quiet atmosphere was very inviting, and it made me more excited for tomorrow.

The next morning, I was able to get a great view of the ocean from the front door of my hostel, but the sights only got better as we got to see the Sligachan Bridge, which overlooked the spectacular Cuillin mountains, the Old Man of Storr, which was used as a location for the filming of Prometheus, but also had an amazing view of the ocean, Mealt Fall, a waterfall that empties into the sea, and Lealt Gorge, which was an amazing site that also had a waterfall. Unfortunately, because I had a problem with my charger, I couldn’t get any of my own photos at the last two stops, but after a lunch of fish and chips in Portree, the capital of Skye, and a short charge at a pit stop in Fort Williams, I was able to get just enough charge to take photos at Glen Coe, the stop that we had to miss yesterday, and got some more amazing photos of the place where part of Skyfall was filmed.

The Isle of Skye was an amazing experience. It is the first of many trips around Europe that I will have while I am here. Speaking of which, on Wednesday, I will be taking a trip to the port town of Oban to get some great pictures and even taste their reputation as the seafood capital of Scotland, and this weekend, I will be on an ISA excursion to Edinburgh and Loch Ness, the capital of Scotland and the infamous stomping (or rather, splashing) grounds (or rather, water) of the elusive Loch Ness Monster respectively. I will be sure to take lots of great pictures of those places as well!

Speaking of pictures, I know what many of you are thinking: Where are some awesome photos of your experiences? While I apologize for not posting any pics sooner, I want to figure out a way to post my photos en masse and without spending large amounts of time doing such. Even though I cannot post a bunch of pictures with this option, I have decided to set up an Instagram account with my favorite photos from my Scotland experiences. You can check out some of the ones I’ve posted right now here, but that said, I will post some photos in another post.

Until next time,

-Danny

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Skye’s the limit! (also, photos!)

  1. Sounds awesome! I like the infamous stomping/splashing grounds/water comment. Try to avoid highlanders (the immortal kind).

  2. Pingback: A Wee Bit of Scottish Highlands and Loch Ness | Journey Around The Globe

Leave a Reply

