A Bit of a Somber Note

Hey, everyone!

I haven’t been able to post recently due to homework assignments, and for that, I apologize. I have another post about the places I’ve visited soon, but for now, I should update about my status and something that I have been thinking of. It’s a bit of a downer, but I feel like it is relevant in relation to recent events.

As many of you have likely heard, last Friday, a helicopter fell out of the sky onto a night club on the Glasgow riverside, killing 9 people. Of course, I was not involved in that accident, but regardless, my heart goes out to the families affected by the incident.

I, myself, had only heard about it when I arrived in Dublin for that weekend (more on that another time), but I was obviously in shock over the crash. I try not to let things like that get me too upset, especially since I was traveling at the time, but obviously, death is something that is upsetting, especially when it is completely unexpected. At the same time, it makes me appreciate a lot of things in life: friends, family, my skills, my ambitions, and even this semester abroad. In a way, it kinda made me think about Thanksgiving, which I was unfortunately unable to celebrate properly here due to homework and the trip.

People lost their lives in that accident, but it’s hardships like this that bring people together to overcome such hurdles. Many businesses came to the aid of the emergency response teams that were working on the crash, and celebrations for St. Andrews Day (a Scottish holiday) across Glasgow were canceled. It’s tragedy where true altruism in humanity shows, and it makes me feel slightly better about humanity in general.

I know that this is probably not something that many of you would want to hear, especially after a period of inactivity, but since I couldn’t experience Thanksgiving in a more traditional way, my thoughts about this event were pretty close to what many people felt during last week.

I hope that everyone had a great Thanksgiving. And good luck for those who have finals in the coming weeks.

-Danny

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Bit of a Somber Note

  1. Sarah Klucker

    Danny,
    I heard about this too and was actually proud of you for posting such a heartfelt entry about this. It is incredibly tragic and such a painful reminder that there are no guarantees in life. My hope is that the families and friends of all involved find comfort in each other and in the saving grace of faith. I hope you have arrived safely back stateside by now. We have missed you and are looking forward to hearing all about your trip.

Leave a Reply

